bread gluten lectins inflammation leaky gut

Why Skipping Refined Grain Products Is Healthier: Reason #1 Of 3 Is Avoiding Acid Reflux…

I, like anyone else like eating bread. I still love crackers, chips, tortillas and just about anything made with refined grain. But I don’t eat it unless it’s a special occasion or I limit it. I know, there’s nothing like the taste of bread with butter.

‘You could make a sandwich or burrito wrapped in lettuce. When I used to eat burgers, I used it instead of a bun’

Yet, these processed foods are gummy and stick to the teeth. I wanted to lessen the possibility of cavities. Powdery grain like flower is pretty much like sugar I hear. I use iodine in my water flosser to kill the bacteria which cause tooth destroying germs. This is what I do. Take a look here… https://youtu.be/ApV8anfDvfIhttps://youtu.be/7d992hw9-W8

Because of my own experience with grain products, I feel I must avoid them as much as humanly possible. They (mostly wheat) cause acid reflux in me. This goes for eating oats but not rice. Grain is very acid to begin with. So, if I happen to eat corn flakes, I try not to eat too much of it. And I buy all organic.

‘How do I give up grain products? Answer: Sorry, no easy solution to the grain addiction’

But we can always go back to the notion that our physiology is not suited for digesting grain. Cows do a good job at it. But us, I say no. Anyway, it is not too tasty without salt, oil or sugar.

I know that rice has arsenic, and it is a grain, but I only eat white Jasmine rice grown in California. I have found this has the lowest arsenic content. I would eat millet and others, but I don’t like them. No worries about arsenic with millet and some others I have heard.

Why I stopped most grain…

  1. Weight gain and big belly
  2. Cavities
  3. Acid reflux

But when I prepare my rice, I rinse it three times. Better doing is to soak it overnight. I boil it in plenty of water and rinse after I cook it. I do have rice almost every night with Bok choy, tofu, onions, mushrooms and a choice of asparagus, brussels sprouts or napa cabbage. I probably eat between 1-2 cups of rice.

‘My diet may seem weird or strange I know but after many years of trial and error and experimentation eating this and that, it seems to work for me’.

It’s no surprise to me that the research is showing there are ‘hidden dangers’ in processed foods [1]. Maybe what I eat will do good for you too. I do eat 80-90% intact plant-based food. I wonder, how can eating more fruits and vegetables hurt? I explain in detail why I eat what I do, here.

Source- 1 The Hidden Dangers of Fast and Processed Food

Note- consult your doctor before you change your diet.

Leave a comment